Conversation

Serial Port Component?

(overview of excerpts from articles in conversation)

Newsgroup: embarcadero.public.cppbuilder.thirdpartytools

# Lines
wrote on 19-Jun-2010:

Hi All,
I have been using BCB6 and TurboPower Async Pro for almost ten years now. The majority of my programs require support for serial ports. Recently, I decided to upgrade to C++ Builder 2010. Much to my dismay, I then discovered that Async Pro does not work with CB 2010. My CB 2010 now sits collecting dust.
There seem to be several issues at play here. One is Unicode. Another is the that all the current supporters of Async Pro are Delphi guys. Another problem is that CB 2010, unlike BCB 6, does not compile Delphi packages. I don't understand all the details but it seems clear that Async Pro is a dead end for C++ Builder programmers.
I would like to know if there are other packages out there that are known to work with CB 2010, preferably ones that don't cost hundreds of dollars.
Also, does anyone know why, after all these years, Borland/Emvbarcadero has never provided serial support?

Rafael Ontivero replied on 19-Jun-2010:

On Fri, 18 Jun 2010 17:21:45 -0700, Bissett Daniel <> wrote:
  (snip)

That's a question that much other people does. The only people that
  uses CB instead of Visual C++ or GNU in the business sector I work are
  those related to hardware stuff that needs communicate with a PC, for
  example utilities to save configuration in boards and/or vending

Dennis Jones replied on 19-Jun-2010:

wrote in message news:✉forums.embarcadero.com...
  (snip)

That may be true, but only if you do not have RAD Studio, and only from
  within the IDE. You're not at a dead-end. CB2010 comes with a Delphi
  compiler, so it should be able to compile Delphi packages from the command
  line. I do not have CB2010, so I cannot confirm that 100%, but it seems

Bissett Daniel replied on 19-Jun-2010:

(snip)